Step it up – SBTD March Blog Hop

Blog Hop Banner

Thanks for joining me as we again hop with my Stampin’ friends from Stampers by the Dozen.  We are a small group of demonstrators who share our love of creativity using Stampin’ Up! product. We are spread throughout the world and come together each month to share a project, following a theme.  You may be starting on my blog, or you may have hopped over from Tashana.  This months theme is Step it up.  Stampin’ Up! encouraged us demonstrators to promote our projects to suit our customer types.  Three customer types have been identified – beginner stampers, casual stampers and avid stampers.  Our theme this month will help to promote this.

My Nephew and  his wife recently announced they were expecting their first baby and would be holding a Gender Reveal Party.  I have based both my cards on this occasion.

My beginners card simply uses the Chase Your Dreams framelits, along with “Congrats” from the Sunshine Wishes thinlits.  Following my theme of Gender reveal, I kept my colours to Blushing Bride and Balmy Blue.  I mounted the card front onto a Whisper White card base.

I stamped the feathers from Follow Your Dreams stamp set in Blushing Bride and Balmy Blue and used the framelits to cut them out (I’m not a fan of fussy cutting!).  On the Blushing Bride card stock, I used the large dream weave circle and cut two images before layering the Balmy Blue Dream Catcher over the top.  I placed the Congrats over the top of the bottom dream weave circle.

fullsizeoutput_1f9c

Now lets Step It Up!!

On the card front, I used my Aqua Painters and added a light water wash to the Whisper White Card Stock using the Blushing Bride and Balmy Blue reinkers.  I then followed the same idea of using the large dream weave circle down the side of the top layer, but I cut three out this time.  I stamped the large Dream Catcher from the Follow Your Dreams stamp set onto a scrap of Whisper White Card Stock before using the framelit to cut it out.  I also had cut a dream weave circle out of Balmy Blue to layer over the top.  I stamped the flower from Follow Your Dreams in Balmy Blue onto Blushing Bride Card Stock and this was placed on Stampin’ Dimensionals to give it a little bit of height.  I also used Stampin’ Mini Dimensionals to place the feathers.

Sticking with my theme of “Is it pink or blue?”  “Is it boy or girl?” I have cut the Congrats out in both Blushing Bride and Balmy Blue as well as doing a water wash on Whisper White in both colours.  I layered these together so they ‘shadowed’ each other.

To add a little more bling, I added a twist of Gold Metallic Thread behind the dream catcher.

fullsizeoutput_1f99

Anyway, thanks for visiting.  Dont forget to visit my fellow Stampers by the Dozen by clicking the next button to visit Sharleen’s post.  I look forward to seeing you next time.

Product List

4 thoughts on “Step it up – SBTD March Blog Hop

Leave a comment