It’s time to say goodbye………

6a00e54f9444b98833016304335ea1970d-800wi

It is this time of the year when Stampin’ Up! demonstrators around the world have very mixed emotions.  On one hand, we are absolutely devastated to be saying farewell to stamp sets and accessories which we have loved over the last 12 months (and sometimes longer) and then on the other hand, we are super excited for what is going to come out in the new catalogue.

Our retiring list was released this week, and as I say, yes there were tears shed…..but lets think of the shiny and new toys we will have to play with in June!  Click here for the link to the retiring list. Please remember, the products are available WHILE STOCKS LAST!  Unfortunately, there are a lot of products already SOLD OUT 😦

My team, the Eureka Stampers are hosting a Retiring Blog Hop and I think I am starting to become a bit addicted to hopping.  It is a fantastic way to see what other demonstrators are making, different techniques used and for gathering ideas.  You may have arrived here from Simone Bartrumor you may have started with me, but either way make sure you visit all our blogs for some great inspiration.  A list of all bloggers is at the end of my post.  

If any of these projects inspire you, I have included the product list at the end of my blog (this links directly to my online store).

So, I am going to make three projects using my three favourite retiring products.

1.  Stippled Blossoms

I was late purchasing this set, however, it is also one that I will be keeping!  Stippled Blossoms was my introduction to using the Stamp-a-ma-jig.  I have Stippled Blossoms in wood mount and it is my go to set for female birthdays, sympathy and get well cards.  Ok, it is my go to for almost any card!  Stippled Blossoms is a 2 Step Stampin’ Set and I think the finished product looks fantastic in any colour combination.  For todays card, I stamped the blossom in Crisp Cantaloupe and Strawberry Slush (both retiring 2013-2015 In Colours) and the leaves I stamped in Old Olive and Mossy Meadow.  I then mounted the card front onto Pistachio Pudding (also a retiring 2013-2015 In Colour)

IMG_2926

In the photo below, you can see the detail of the 2 Step stamping, using the darker colour to highlight the detail of the blossom.

IMG_2927

2. Polka-Dot Pieces

Ok, so now it is time for a confession………I had this set in my collection for a LONG time before it saw any ink!  I think I found it difficult as I was not able to imagine what I wanted to use it for.  The card I have made for todays post is a Slide Pocket card, made using the Envelope Punch Board.  To ensure the pocket stays secure, I used Sticky Strip (also retiring…..argh!).  BTW Fast Fuse is a fabulous alternative for the orange Sticky Strip.  I love the deep tones of Blackberry Bliss Ink (thankfully with us for one more year) along with Tangelo Twist and Hello Honey.  The fact that the Bird Punch matches this set is an absolute bonus.  I was able to punch the bird out after I stamped and then popped his wing out on a dimensional.  To create the ombre look for the butterflies, I inked the stamp once and stamped three times.  Let me know what you think…….I love this technique as it shows the different tones in one ink colour.

IMG_0024

I have included a close photo showing the ombre effect.    IMG_0024

3.  Wildflower Meadow

Wildflower Meadow is such a versatile set.  Along with the stamp there is also a matching Embossing Folder.  I know this has been a favourite amongst my Stamp Club members as well, and so will be sadly missed.

For this project, I heat embossed the image using our Stampin Emboss White Powder onto the card front and also heat embossed the flower image from Flower Shop and Petite Petals, all onto Pool Party Card Stock.  Again, the coordinating punches for the flowers make everything so easy.  I have used the Candy Dots to accentuate the centre of the flowers, and couldn’t really decide if I preferred the black or white……..hmmm too many decisions…….so I made two!  There are a few retiring Emboss Powders, so check the retiring list to see if your favourite is going.

I also double mounted this card front onto Basic Black card stock, just for the added border.

10486202_613749612055917_3846911724925899688_n

Now it is time to move onto the very talented Mel Pagano.  Thanks for reading and don’t forget to leave me a comment.

Please visit and leave a comment for our Eureka Blog Hoppers………

1. Rebecca Scurr

2. Emma Palonek

3. Jessica Williams

4. Simone Bartrum

5. Carly Middleton

6. Mel Pagano

Product List

12 thoughts on “It’s time to say goodbye………

  1. thepapercaper says:

    Love Stippled Blossoms! Might be time to actually buy it at a discount! And while I’m not that sad to see Wildflower go, yours is the best card I’ve seen using it with those extra flowers!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Heather says:

    lovely! love the stippled blossoms too, will be sad to see them go:( And the Wildflower meadow looks great like that, I didn’t use it much, but might case this one:) Thanks for sharing

  3. rascur says:

    Love your cards!! Stippled Blossoms is so lovely, I will be sad to see it do. And I love the embossing on your wildflower card. I might have to give that a go too.

Leave a Reply

